I bet Grizwald never took down his Christmas lights…

We are now in our after-Christmas mode, and I’m wondering – how long are people allowed to keep up their Christmas lights before it’s considered tacky? I’m only asking because… well… I kind of like my Christmas lights. Also, it’s going to take a lot of time and effort to get those suckers down.

It occurred to me yesterday, as I contemplated our own Christmas lights, that Christmas Vacation never actually shows Grizwald removing the Christmas lights from his house.

I don’t think this was an oversight on the movie director’s part.

In fact, I think the fact that we never see Grizwald taking down his lights makes room for a nice sequel to the movie – because surely a full-length movie could be made just about taking down those lights. This one could star Grizwald’s neighbors  – the yuppy couple that lived next door – and their efforts to get the Christmas lights off the Grizwalds’ house. There’d be a lot of opportunity for pratfalls as they relentlessly climbed two-story ladders, slip-slided down their neighbor’s icy roof, hung from the gutters and window sills, fell into trees, got zapped on live wires, and just generally had a rollicking good adventure trying to remove Grizwald’s work of art from his domicile.

I wish we had neighbors like that.  Sadly, our neighbors are people of good will and open-mindedness who have a live-and-let-live attitude about life, and don’t care if we leave our lights up until Valentine’s Day or next Christmas. Nope, If we want our lights down, we’re not going to be able to rely on the angst of our neighbors to get them removed for us.

So maybe we’ll just leave them up. They’re kind of festive and pretty. When Valentine’s Day comes, we’ll just call them our Valentine’s lights. When Easter comes, they’ll become our Easter lights.  And they’ll be absolutely perfect for celebrating the Fourth of July.

– Karen Molenaar Terrell

5 thoughts on “I bet Grizwald never took down his Christmas lights…

  1. I just started taking down the decorations today. I usually leave them till the first because it seems it’s only between Christmas evening and New Years day that you can really stay home, relaxed and really enjoy them. This year that wasn’t the case, so they stayed up longer.
    So leave them till you’ve had your full share of enjoyment and be glad your neighbors won’t mind.

    One thing I did notice today….there sure were a lot more people here when I was putting them up!! 😉

  2. As one of your neighbors, it tickles me to see them ablaze as long as possible! Nothing beats some sparkle!

    • I am so very glad you are my neighbor, Mary Anne! Right now it is dark and cold and rainy and our neighbor’s Christmas lights are lighting up the street – all cheery and bright. I’d be happy if everyone left their lights up and got us through the winter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

